VRBO Reviews


Testimonials and Reviews
From people who have shared their feelings, thoughts and experiences
with us as a testament to what you can expect.

If you wish to see these Reviews directly on VRBOClick Here


Magic at Casa Blanca


Returning home after our vacation in Merida, we still cannot get enough memories of our fantastic stay at Casa Blanca, a renovated hacienda owned by two gifted artists,Steve and Stena. Their hospitality could not have been more gracious.The beautiful,comfortabe furnishings,the glorious pool and yard,an everything kitchen,perfect lighting and security,music in a great location a few blocks from the center of town,every room with stylish suprises and a valuable and very informative hand made guide book! We recommend Casa Blanca without a doubt and can’t wait to return.A perfect place to stay . Merida, with beauty and history, a truly worthy spot chosen recently for the summit of Peace Prize Laureates this September in this magical city. Merida/Casa Blanca what an unbeatable combo for a perfect vacation.

Gail B.

  • Stayed: October, 2019
  • Submitted: October, 2019
  • Source: VRBO from HomeAway


Merida First Visit

Lovely owners…..terrific property …. highly recommended …. we will return.

Bill H.

  • Stayed: October, 2019
  • Submitted: October, 2019
  • Source: VRBO from HomeAway


Beautiful!!!


The pictures of the house are stunning but being there in person is breathtaking. Steve and Sanda are great artist and their art pieces are perfectly spread through out, but I feel their masterpiece is this house. The home is in a great location on a quiet street and conveniently close to shops and restaurants. checking in and out was very easy and enjoyable. every square inch of this place was spotless. Steve and Sanda go above and beyond to make one feel at home. Steve had prepared just an awesome playlist of music for us to enjoy on our stay. they have even taken the time to prepare a book with maps, restaurant recommendations, emergency numbers etc…. I would like to keep this one a secret but there’s some things you just must share. This place is a MUST-STAY!!! thank you guys… it was a great pleasure meeting the two of you.

Gerardo Lara

  • Stayed: October, 2019
  • Submitted: October, 2019
  • Source: VRBO from HomeAway


Casa Blanca is a very special property

Beautifully decorated, comfortable, and elegant. The owners, Steve and Sanda, are warm and welcoming.

Christopher S.

  • Stayed: June, 2019
  • Submitted: July, 2019
  • Source: VRBO from HomeAway


Gracious hosts and beautiful house

This house is more stunning than the photos with art, an established garden, and great amenities. The spaces are large and the bedrooms are private and comfortable. Steve and Sanda are welcoming and a fabulous source of information for anything you need (Cenotes, silver chains and market advice). They are both easy to work with, and made sure we had a relaxing stay. Our adult son loved having a guitar to play, while we lounged in the pool hammock. We have stayed in many VRBO properties and have found that some house photos are older or inaccurate. Casablanca is as beautiful as it looks. You won’t be disappointed. Thanks so much Steve and Sanda!

Lisa W.

  • Stayed: May, 2019
  • Submitted: June, 2019
  • Source: VRBO from HomeAway

Just amazing and more

I’ve stayed in many places over the years but this experience just tops it all.  Steve and Sanda made us feel welcomed and taken care from the moment we arrived. House is beautiful and beyond.  All I can say is thank you for such a privilege to stay at your house! Here are some comments to help people choose this gem: – Photos are good but just wait till you see the property in person – so much more impressive. Every detail is thought about, everything is comfortable, elegant, amazing quality and just beautiful. I felt like visiting some really cool friends who where happy to see me. – Beds are super comfortable and they do swing. – Plenty of incredible toiletries, towels, etc. – Location is perfect – not too close to the touristy places but walk-able enough to get around. Plus you will always have parking space. – It could get loud at night (music + parties) but I guess that goes for entire Merida. People do enjoy life there. – Pool and garden is heavenly. – So many antiques – doors, tiles, art, pots… truly a cultural experience. – Kitchen is gorgeous with simple equipment and not intended for a non stop gourmet cooking and why would you – restaurants in Merida are so good. – Lot’s of mosquitoes – bring repellents and all that if you are allergic to them like me. That has nothing to do with the house – they are everywhere in that area. – Thank you Steve and Sanda for all the lights, music and all that atmospheric things that photos just can’t show and words can’t really describe. – You will not want to leave.

Daiga A.

  • Stayed: March 28, 2019
  • Submitted: April 04, 2019
  • Source: VRBO from HomeAway

Casablanca – our perfect stay

Arriving in Merida after 19 hours of travel, at the entrance to Casablanca a southern Shangri-La, we found ourselves greeted by our warm and welcoming hosts Steve and Sanda.  From the very first moment our experience was idyllic – so much so we had to keep pinching ourselves and asking, “is this real”? Casablanca is uniquely perfect as a vacation property – spectacular in design, the attention to detail and complete privacy that it offers. Nothing was lacking.  All aspects of providing a home away from home had been thought of and everything we needed was within reach.  Steve and Sanda, via one of several digital options provided, gave prompt and warm answers to any questions we had throughout our stay.  Surrounded by elegance and refinement we spent our days lounging by the pool and exploring the city and its offerings during the cooler hours.  At night we slept soundly, feeling completely secure in the luxurious master bedroom with the full moon shining in.  This all seems unrealistic but the Casablanca experience was out of this world and perfect for us.  We would recommend it as a 5-star accommodation in a vibrant and beautiful city – one we hope to return to if we are ever to be so lucky.  The only “hard part” of staying at Casablanca was leaving.

Jacques L

  • Stayed: March 18, 2019
  • Submitted: April 16, 2019
  • Source: VRBO from HomeAway

Sumptuous Serenity

The moment we entered Steve and Sanda’s lovely hacienda, I felt the Zen vibe I had envisioned and hoped for. After spending 9 perfect days seaside in Sisal I had worried that we would miss the incredible majesty of nature at it’s finest, but Casablanca dispelled any reservations immediately. Casablanca is truly an oasis of sublime, sensual luxury; with the rich culture of Merida at your door step, what’s not to fall in love? Steve and Sanda are outstanding hosts who go the extra mile (and then some) to assure an experience worthy of dreamy memories. And no detail is missed – from a much appreciated welcome tour of the amenities and workings of this well appointed “casa” (much more like a five star resort than casa but with the feeling of “mi casa”) to the kitchen equipped with a bounty of fresh fruit and refreshments – “Oh yesssss, please!!!!” is all I can say. Travel anywhere you can imagine within the magical city of Merida is a quick, inexpensive Uber ride away (or brief stroll if you are so inclined). A wonderful bakery is just around the corner for morning treats. Several of Merida’s parks are within easy reach, as are numerous cultural sites and events. The hardest decision you will have to make will be tearing yourself away from Casablanca. If you decide to hang out and relax, no worries, the kitchen can handle any meal you want to prepare, with well stocked supermarkets a short ride away ( or delivery of excellent homemade pasta and pizza a phone call away ). Treat yourself and don’t hesitate in choosing this amazing spot – “return worthy” for us!!! Thank you Steve and Sanda.

Karen S. and Roy.

  • Stayed: January 20, 2019
  • Submitted: January 28, 2019
  • Source: VRBO from HomeAway

Excellent

Everything was great ! Thank you so much Steve and Sanda. We loved the house.

Fernanda R.

  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Submitted: July 28, 2018
  • Source: VRBO / HomeAway

Wonderful experience in Merida

CasaBlanca is a large colonial era house with high ceilings and a large floor area. My wife and I stayed there for four weeks and really enjoyed the experience. The house has been brought up to modern standards with a tasteful, artistic renovation. Further, the art work throughout the house is quite impressive. CasaBlanca is maintained at a very high level and is immaculately clean on one’s arrival. The kitchen is large and exceptionally well equipped, and the adjacent dining area is a delight. Among the most impressive features are the outdoor spaces. In the back, outside the kitchen and dining area, there is a large yard which is well lit and particularly enjoyable during the evenings. The lighting throughout the house and in the backyard is little short of inspired. We found the cabana near the pool delightful in the mornings and the court yard particularly inviting during the afternoon. The owners, Steve and Sanda, are wonderful people who go out of their way to insure a completely enjoyable experience for their guests.

Stone

  • Stayed: January 31, 2018
  • Submitted: March 06
  • Source: VRBO from HomeAway

Amazing Stay in Merida!

Steve and Sanda’s home was spectacularly beautiful! They did a fantastic job on the renovation. The outside area is equally as gorgeous as the inside with the pool, fruit trees, plantings, all professionally landscaped. The birds calling in the morning were a special treat.

Loving to cook, the kitchen was set up to very high standards.

I have to say that both Steve and Sanda are wonderful people and is apparent that they love and take very good care of the home. We can’t wait to go back!

We highly recommend Casablanca Living!

Hary K.

  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Submitted: January
  • Source: VRBO from HomeAway

Wonderful, Magical Place!

Magical setting..the garden and pool are so peaceful…it’s like being a million miles away from everything and all you have to do is open your front door and you’ve have Merida to explore.

Carol R.

 

  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Submitted: December 22, 2017
  • Source: VRBO from HomeAway

Magnificent!

This luxurious property was architecturally stunning. Five hundred year old stone walls, exquisite pool and outdoor living space that flow seamlessly with the indoor spaces made staying here an experience for all of the senses. Every detail was thoughtfully attended to and of highest quality. Casblanca’s simple elegance is a sanctuary within a magnificent city of a million people. From cleanliness to linens to kitchen needs, everything was provided generously. Our hosts were responsive to our queries and needs from our first emails confirming our stay until the morning of our departure. Their highly regarded expertise in the service industry and event planning in Vancouver, Canada was clearly evident. Original artwork through out the home resonates with the beautiful place they have created in Merida. It was a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Lynne Saskatoon, Saskatchewan Canada

Testimonial-Break-Line

Comfort, Spacious and so so Beautiful. “Thank You!”

Our friends shared this home and from the moment we arrived, everything was taken care of. With a warm welcome and drinks at the ready, then after a quick refresh from traveling, we were given a light tour of the home. We were also given a local map, a quick orientation and directions, for easy walking to get to the main market and some local restaurants. This was a really nice way to start our perfect holiday knowing we were completely taken care of. As for the house – it’s Stunning! It’s completely unique and offers all the privacy, comfort and calm you want, when you want it. We already miss being there and hope we can make this happen again. Thank you both!

  • Stayed: November 2016
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

I. Williams Manhattan, NY, USA

Testimonial-Break-Line

Everything you could want

Our hosts Steven and Sanda thought of everything needed to make a holiday special and relaxing. The garden with pool gave a feeling of absolute privacy and solitude in the middle of a busy city. From making fresh squeezed O.J. to roasting a lamb leg the kitchen had it all. The bedroom mattress and pillows were 5 star making for a great sleep. I loved this home and will be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Carlos: Vancouver, BC, Canada

Testimonial-Break-Line

Pamper Yourself

It is a truly a wonderful experience to stay at this serene oasis in the heart of Merida. The home is spacious, luxurious and meticulously kept. No detail was left unattended, and our stay was most relaxing and tranquil. Aside from the fabulous suspended king size beds, the well stocked new kitchen and the large pool in a quiet tropical oasis, what impressed us the most was the attention that the owners gave to the lighting, both in and out. It was created with romance and relaxation in mind. These owners have done a GREAT JOB, and we would love to return someday. Muchas Gracias

  • Stayed: September 2016
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Joyful Travelers Vancouver/BC/Canada

Testimonial-Break-Line

Wonderful Memories

Exceptional! A most unique home with a mix of Old Colonial and Modern. All the amenities one would come to expect and nothing but total privacy right in the heart of everything. I can’t say thank you enough for all the care, attention to detail and advice from the owners. My family and I will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: November 2015
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

W. Mackey San Diego, California, USA

Testimonial-Break-Line

The Most Amazing Holiday Home!

I don’t even know where to begin. The home is stunning, spacious, clean with all the amenities you want or need; the service staff were extremely polite, nice and professional and the little start off/welcome items were a really nice touch. There is nothing you wanted to do more than stay at the house to completely relax in total privacy. Thank you so very very much!

  • Stayed: April 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Charlies Pride: San Antonio, Texas, United States

Testimonial-Break-Line

Exceptional Property!

Stunning home with all the amenities and walking distance from everything, your property is beautifully appointed. As there were 4 of us staying, we had all the privacy we could want and the space to enjoy. Even though we couldn’t go anywhere on the one rainy day, the massive 5 meter x 3 meter projection screen and movie selections allowed us to stay warm, dry and cozy in what felt like our own private movie theater. A remarkable home. We’ll be sure to stay again the next time we visit Merida. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

13 Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Testimonial-Break-Line

Stunning, Tranquil Home with Cool Hanging Beds! 

We went to spend time with friends and they showed us other friends homes there, but Casablanca was stunning! The place was exceptionally clean and the outdoor space is huge and completely manicured. Great service from start to finish, including the welcome wine and coffee as both were needed after our long journey there. We’ll be back without question

  • Stayed: February 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Anonymous